Never Love A Stranger

I watched her. I wanted to tell her I was glad to see her, wanted to tell her I missed the old bunch. But I didn’t dare. Maybe Jerry had sent her to me, looking for an angle. I couldn’t know.

“I’m sorry I was so rough with you,” I said gently.

“That’s all right,” she said, “I deserved it. I should have known better.”

She was at the door. “Good-bye.”

I went to her and took her hand and smiled. “Anyway,” I said, “thanks for coming.”

We stood there a moment, our hands locked, looking into each other’s eyes. She leaned toward me, I felt a kiss brush my lips. “Remember what you said long ago,” she said. “’Now we’re friends.’”

“Good-bye,” I said, and watched her close the door.

I called Allison for the Tanforan report, and while I waited on the phone for him to read the figures, I was thinking. It was nuts. It was screwy. This was no time to fall for a dame, no matter who she was.

Or was it?

Francis “Frankie” Kane never had it easy. As an orphan in New York’s Hell’s Kitchen, he was destined to have a rough life. But despite his circumstances, Frankie was determined to rise above. He took off down a treacherous path, often landing on the wrong side of the law. At a young age, he becomes one of the city’s most dangerous men, indulging in his passion for power, sex and the best things in life. Will his rebel ways triumph in the end? Or will he fall victim to the strong hand of love?

~ by haroldrobbinsnovels on September 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

